Toggle Accessibility Tools

Norm Sleep is inaugural GLG Bergquist medalist

Dr. Norman H. Sleep (B.S. Geology and Mathematics, MSU '67) is the recipient of a new award to recognize the outstanding achievements of GLG alumni.  Dr. Sleep went on to earn graduate degrees at MIT in geophysics.  He is the recipient of numerous awards and the author of many influential publications.  Click here for more information about Dr. Sleep's career.


The medal is named in honor of  Dr. Stanard Gustav Bergquist (1892-1956), who served as Chair of the Department from 1930 to 1956. More information on Prof. Bergquist can be found here. The award was the brainchild of alumnus and visiting professor of hydrology Dr. Warren W. Wood (B.S., M.S., Ph.D. MSU Geology). 


The medal will be presented at this year's GLG Commencement and Awards Reception, to be held Saturday, May 7, from 9-11:30 a.m. at the Centennial Room of the Kellogg Center.  Alumni, family, and friends of the Department are welcome to attend.  Please RSVP by May 2 to or call the Department at 517.355.4626.

Share this story


Interim Department Chair:
Dr. Jeffrey Freymueller
  (517) 355-4626

Department Office:
 Natural Science Bldg
288 Farm Lane, Rm 207
East Lansing, MI 48824
  (517) 355-4626
  (517) 353-8787